Secrétariat aux affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes - Gouvernement du Québec.
Agrandir le texte.Contraste élevé.Contraste inversé.
RechercheRaccourcis.
Facebook.Fils RSS.

Description of the Method Used in this Document

This document describes and lists the positions and recommendations adopted or formulated by successive Québec governments concerning Québec’s status and constitutional powers. It updates the study entitled Québec’s Traditional Constitutional Positions (1936-1990) that was published by the Secrétariat aux affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes, which then expanded the scope of a study made in 1978 by the ministère des Affaires intergouvernementales du Québec on Québec’s positions regarding the distribution of powers. In addition to document updating, the recent version offers three new parts made up respectively of speeches, documents and a timetable of events.

The study now covers a period of 64 years, i.e. from August 26, 1936 when the first government of Maurice Duplessis was sworn in, until March 8, 2001, the date when Lucien Bouchard’s government ended. It makes no claim to be exhaustive. Furthermore, since the source of each government position has been indexed, the reader can procure an overview not only regarding the nature of these positions, but also their scope, consistency and the issues at stake.

Entitled “Positions of Québec,” the first part of the document presents the positions and claims of successive Québec governments in chronological order. The drafting of this part required research into various government sources such as supporting documents, accounts of intergovernmental meetings, communiqués, white papers and legislative discourses.

The classification adopted in the 1991 document was kept intact yet subject to some changes involving a new heading added to the six preceding ones, among other changes.

Bearing the title “Status of Québec,” the first heading under part 1 of the document reviews government statements regarding the place that Québec should occupy within the federalist context of Canada, as well as statements dealing with Québec’s accession to sovereignty. This heading especially delves into the fundamental interpretations that Québec governments have given to the Constitution Act, 1867, and to issues relevant to the process by which Québec’s political status is determined.

The second heading addresses the constitutional reform process. It includes statements pertaining to constitutional policies of various governments, as well as their positions as regards major milestones in the evolution of constitutional affairs as seen from a Québec perspective.

The third heading looks into positions relating to the constitutional amending procedure.

The fourth heading presents positions taken by Québec regarding the distribution of powers. It is divided into three sections: general principles, sectorial jurisdictions, and unilateral powers. The first section covers the principles, criteria and objectives that governments have invoked with regard to the general issue of how powers are distributed. It also includes statements describing the manner in which governments have viewed the interplay of powers. The second section inventories the positions that governments have taken either to affirm and define their jurisdiction over a particular sector of activities, or to claim new ones. Unilateral powers encompass spending, reserve, disallowance, declaratory, residuary and exceptional provisional powers.

The fifth heading, “Individual and language rights,” raises the positions taken with regard to such rights within the context of Canadian constitutional reform and within various institutional contexts characteristic of Québec.

The sixth heading reviews Canadian federal institutions, such as the Supreme Court of Canada, the Senate, FederalProvincial Conferences and the office of the Lieutenant Governor.

The seventh and last heading “Intergovernmental policy,” is broader and subdivides into several sections to facilitate consultation. The section on “Conducting intergovernmental relations” includes statements on intergovernmental relation policies set forth by various governments. The section on “Financial aspects of federalism” is a look at various items such as financial autonomy, shared-cost agreements, intergovernmental financial transfers and equity in federal spending. Finally, the remaining sections integrate the positions of principle on certain major intergovernmental issues, especially relations with Aboriginal Nations, the French-Speaking and Acadian Communities of Canada, internal and international trade. Some government positions belonging to one and the same period could have been reported under several headings used in part 1. To avoid multiple repetitions, references were inserted into the text to indicate positions or declarations that, despite their integration under one heading, are also relevant to other headings. As such, for each chronological subdivision, the reader may procure a broad vision of the field covered by each of the headings. Moreover, the index makes it possible to find positions for the entire period covered by the document based upon specific themes.

In part 1, the chronological subdivisions generally correspond to the succession of governments. Nonetheless, the period covering the Lévesque government (including that of Pierre Marc Johnson) and Robert Bourassa’s second government was divided on the basis of major events related to the question of Québec’s political status, which wielded influence over the constitutional and intergovernmental policies of those governments.

The second part of the document offers a selection of speeches delivered by the prime ministers and ministers of the Québec government. These speeches are reproduced either integrally or from extensive extracts. They are associated with historic circumstances or they rest upon fundamental issues in the constitutional and intergovernmental domain.

The third part provides a selection of documents linked to Québec’s evolution and its positions in constitutional matters, as well as more generally in intergovernmental relations. It also includes Canadian framework texts that Québec did not sign (The Constitutional Agreement, November 5, 1981, which in turn led to the adopting of the Constitutional Act, 1982, without Québec’s consent; the Calgary Declaration; and the Social Union Framework Agreement, February 4, 1999, that Québec did not sign). Finally, the last part of the document includes a short timetable. This is a reference tool intended to facilitate the forming of an historical perspective based on positions, speeches and documents incorporated in this study.

Top of page

Secrétariat aux affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes - Gouvernement du Québec.
Agrandir le texte.Contraste élevé.Contraste inversé.
RechercheRaccourcis.
Facebook.Fils RSS.

Description de la méthode adoptée dans le document

Le présent document traite, sous une forme descriptive et énumérative, des positions et des recommandations adoptées ou formulées par les divers gouvernements québécois au sujet du statut et des pouvoirs constitutionnels du Québec. Il constitue une mise à jour du document intitulé « Les positions traditionnelles du Québec en matière constitutionnelle 1936-1990 », publié en 1991 par le Secrétariat aux affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes, qui élargissait le champ d’une étude faite, en 1978, par le ministère des Affaires intergouvernementales du Québec sur les positions québécoises concernant le partage des pouvoirs. Outre la mise à jour, le document propose trois nouvelles parties constituées, respectivement, de discours, de documents et d’une chronologie.

Le document couvre une période de soixante-quatre années, soit depuis le 26 août 1936, date qui marque l’entrée en fonction du premier gouvernement de Maurice Duplessis, jusqu’au 8 mars 2001, date de la fin du gouvernement de M. Lucien Bouchard. Il ne prétend pas être exhaustif. Par ailleurs, la source de chacune des positions gouvernementales ayant été répertoriée, le lecteur pourra obtenir une vue d’ensemble non seulement de la nature de ces positions, mais aussi de leur ampleur, de leur constance et de leur enjeu.

Intitulée « Positions du Québec », la première partie du document présente, dans un ordre chronologique, les positions et revendications des différents gouvernements québécois. Pour cette partie, il a fallu puiser à diverses sources gouvernementales, telles que les documents d’appui, les mémoires de conférences intergouvernementales, les communiqués, les livres blancs et les discours législatifs.

La classification adoptée dans le document de 1991 a été reprise sous réserve de certaines modifications, parmi lesquelles une nouvelle rubrique qui s’ajoute aux six utilisées précédemment.

Intitulée « Statut du Québec », la première rubrique au sein de la partie 1 du document recense les énoncés gouvernementaux se rapportant à la place que devrait occuper le Québec dans le contexte du fédéralisme canadien, ainsi que les énoncés ayant trait à l’accession du Québec à la souveraineté. Cette rubrique porte, notamment, sur les interprétations fondamentales données à la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 par les gouvernements québécois et sur les questions relatives au processus de détermination du statut politique du Québec.

La deuxième rubrique porte sur le processus de réforme constitutionnelle. Elle inclut les énoncés relatifs à la politique constitutionnelle des différents gouvernements, ainsi que leurs positions en relation avec les principaux jalons de l’évolution du dossier constitutionnel d’un point de vue québécois.

La troisième rubrique fait état des positions relatives à la procédure de modification constitutionnelle.

La quatrième rubrique présente les positions des gouvernements québécois à l’égard du partage des compétences. Elle se divise en trois volets : principes généraux ; compétences sectorielles ; pouvoirs unilatéraux. Le premier volet regroupe les principes, les critères et les objectifs que les gouvernements ont invoqués sur la question générale du partage des compétences. Il comporte aussi les énoncés qui décrivent de quelle manière les gouvernements ont envisagé la dynamique des pouvoirs. Le deuxième volet répertorie les positions que les gouvernements ont adoptées, soit pour affirmer et définir leurs compétences sur un secteur particulier d’activités, soit pour en revendiquer de nouvelles. Les pouvoirs unilatéraux comprennent le pouvoir de dépenser, les pouvoirs de réserve et de désaveu, et les pouvoirs déclaratoires, résiduaires et d’urgence. La cinquième rubrique, « Droits individuels et linguistiques », porte sur les prises de position relatives à ces droits dans le contexte de la réforme constitutionnelle canadienne ainsi que dans certains contextes institutionnels internes au Québec.

La sixième rubrique traite des institutions du fédéralisme canadien, par exemple la Cour suprême du Canada, le Sénat, les conférences fédérales-provinciales, la charge de lieutenant-gouverneur.

La septième et dernière rubrique, « Politique intergouvernementale » est plus large et est subdivisée en quelques sections pour faciliter la consultation. La section « Conduite des relations intergouvernementales » comprend des énoncés sur la politique de relations intergouvernementales mise de l’avant par les différents gouvernements. La section« Aspects financiers du fédéralisme » touche à divers éléments, tels que l’autonomie financière, les accords cofinancés, les transferts financiers intergouvernementaux et l’équité dans les dépenses fédérales. Enfin, les autres sections intègrent les positions de principe sur certains grands dossiers à incidences intergouvernementales, notamment les relations avec les nations autochtones, les communautés francophones et acadiennes du Canada, le commerce intérieur et le commerce international. Certaines positions gouvernementales appartenant à une même période auraient pu être rapportées sous plusieurs rubriques utilisées dans la partie 1. Afin d’éviter de nombreuses répétitions, des renvois ont été insérés dans le texte pour signaler les positions ou déclarations qui, bien qu’elles aient été intégrées dans une rubrique, se révèlent également pertinentes pour d’autres rubriques. Ainsi, pour chaque subdivision chronologique, le lecteur pourra obtenir une vision complète du champ couvert par chacune des rubriques. De plus, l’index permettra de repérer les positions pour l’ensemble de la période couverte par le document en fonction de thèmes précis.

Au sein de la partie 1, les subdivisions chronologiques correspondent généralement à la succession des gouvernements. Cependant, la période du gouvernement Lévesque (y compris celle du gouvernement de Pierre Marc Johnson) et celle du second gouvernement de Robert Bourassa ont été divisées en fonction de grands événements relatifs à la question du statut politique du Québec qui ont exercé une influence sur la politique constitutionnelle et intergouvernementale de ces gouvernements.

La deuxième partie du document propose une sélection de discours de premiers ministres et de ministres du gouvernement du Québec. Ces discours sont reproduits soit intégralement, soit en de larges extraits. Ils sont associés à des circonstances historiques ou ils portent sur des questions fondamentales du domaine constitutionnel et intergouvernemental.

La troisième partie offre une sélection de documents liés au cheminement du Québec et à ses positions dans le dossier constitutionnel ainsi que, plus généralement, en matière de relations intergouvernementales. Elle comporte, aussi, des textes canadiens à vocation structurante auxquels le Québec n’a pas adhéré (Accord constitutionnel du 5 novembre 1981 qui devait conduire à l’adoption de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 sans l’accord du Québec ; Déclaration de Calgary ; Ententecadre sur l’union sociale du 4 février 1999 que le Québec n’a pas signée).

Enfin, la dernière partie du document consiste dans une brève chronologie. Il s’agit d’un outil de référence facilitant la mise en perspective historique des positions, discours et documents intégrés à l’ouvrage